Search this Site
powered by FreeFind
Search other book
review web sites

Your one stop for finding multiple professional reviews of recently released books.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas tells six different narratives, told in parts and out of order at times, constructing a novel with their intersections and coincidences. Each story is at first partially told. It begins with an American notary's journals during a South Seas voyage, This follows with a story in 1931 of a English cad working as an amanuensis for a blind, syphilitic composer. It jumps to reporter in the 1970s investigating a cover up at a nuclear reactor, then a futuristic fast food robot struggling to achieve sentience, and finally a Hawaiian ruminating on a post-apocalyptic life. Then the unfinished stories are completed in backwards order. David Mitchell's novel explores the intersection of history and humanity as they echo through time. Cloud Atlas has received mostly positive reviews with The Independent saying, "Cloud Atlas is a singular achievement, from an author of extraordinary ambition and skill, setting himself challenges that would drive most authors to madness. For the third time in a row, Mitchell has excelled himself."
Editor's Pick
Buy Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
Read our review

The Observer review
by Hephzibah Anderson

The Guardian review
by A. S. Byatt

The Telegraph review
by Theo Tait

Village Voice review
by Jessica Winter review
by Laura Miller

Boston Phoenix review
by Peter Keough

New York Times review
by Tom Bissell

San Francisco Chronicle
review by Tom Barbash

David Mitchell
Buy from the UK Buy from Canada
Buy from France Buy from Germany
[click book cover for page for Cloud Atlas]
[click "Buy from the UK" for page for Cloud Atlas]

Buy gift card